Flourless Chocolate Cake

Flourless Choc. CakeThere’s this wonderful coffee stop near where I live that I really enjoy just hanging around there drinking my favorite coffee or tea drink called Barclays Coffee.  The staff and the owner are gems and they make me feel right at home because of their wonderful hospitality.  So, during one of our many conversations, I informed the owner “Jay” that I make a wonderful flourless chocolate cake and I caught him drooling at the description of it.  I, therefore, promised to make a cake for him – so yesterday was the day.  I brought the cake into his  cafe and everybody’s eyes were popping and mouths were drooling.  It really made me feel great because I know how yummy it is.  Actually whenever I go out to eat and see a flourless chocolate cake on the menu, I really don’t think it compares to the recipe that I use.  So, I will be happy to share my recipe with whoever sees this part of my blog.  I really don’t remember how I found this recipe because it was a very long time ago.  All I remember is that I got the recipe from a friend at my workplace and I don’t know where she got it.  All I can say – it’s a keeper!!!!!

FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE CAKE

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

7 oz. Sugar

3 egg whites, room temperature

3 yolks and 1 egg

7 oz. Bittersweet chocolate (Ghiradelli 60% cocao)

7 Tbsp. Butter, unsalted

pinch of salt

Garnish of powdered sugar and/or cocoa

Combine 1/3 of sugar with egg whites and whip to a soft peak.  Set aside.

Combine remaining sugar with the yolks and 1 egg.  Beat until color lightens and forms a ribbon.

Melt chocolate, butter and salt over a double boiler.

In a large bowl, combine the chocolate with the yolk mixture until blended.  Fold in the egg white mixture (1/3 at a time) and pour into a 9” spring form.  Bake at 375 degrees for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Unmold after cake is cool.

Garnish with powdered sugar and/or cocoa.

SLURP SLURP!!!  The best!!!!!!!!

3 Responses to “Flourless Chocolate Cake”

  1. MMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!! Love love love this cake, so wondeful Rita. Can’t wait to visit again and eat some 🙂 love you!

  2. Hi Rita,
    Just wanted to remind you that my birthday is the day after Angela & Jennifer’s in May….in case you might be making any flourless chocolate cakes around then!!!

  3. Rita…YUMMMMMMMYY I’m so hungry….great recipes!

Leave a comment