Chicken Soup Day

Rain, rain, rain – would you believe it for So. California?  We need it badly but I’m not a rain person at all – just sunshine 365 days a year.  OK, it can rain while I’m sleeping, but that’s it for me.  So, since it was/is raining, it’s a good time to make soup.  So, yum, yum, I made my favorite – chicken soup (Jewish penicillin they say!).  I made so much, but in one day, it’s practically gone.  Of course, I gave some to my son, because he raids my refrigerator every time he comes over, so knowing that he would see it, I was a generous mom.  I also had tons of chicken that I separated from the soup and when it’s hot and really juicy, quite a bit of it lands in my stomach and my son’s before it hits the soup.  Major slurp!!  So, if anybody is interested, I’m going to let you in on my so-called chicken soup recipe.  Everybody must know how to make chicken soup, but I just want to share mine.  So, here goes!!!!

I buy one whole chicken (not kosher) and 2 or 3 thighs of kosher chicken – wash it inside and out and put it in a BIG soup pot.  The kosher chicken has lots of fat and that makes the soup have a delicious and intense flavor.  After that – I put one onion cut up, about 8 peeled carrots, a large peeled parsnip, lots of celery leaves and a few stalks into the pot.  Then I put about 3 or 4 tablespoons of dried dill, (maybe 5), lots of pepper (use your judgment), about 3 teaspoons of salt and just dump it on the chicken and veggies that are in the pot.  Then put the BIG pot under the faucet in the kitchen sink and put in enough cold water to cover the chicken and veggies.  Cover the pot and get the water to boil on the stove, and then turn the flame down to a simmer (but with tiny bubbles) and just let it go for a few hours.  Then, what I do, is take all the chicken out of the pot and separate it from the bones, strain the soup into a large container that the soup will fit into.  I want a clear soup.  I throw out all the veggies, except the carrots, but I keep them in a container for the time being.  Put the soup in the refrigerator and the next day skim all the fat and then you have a “fatless” (my own word) soup.  Of course, you need noodles, so I get the Manischewitz fine noodles and cook them, drain them and do not rinse them after they are cooked and put them into the soup.  I put salt in the water when I cook them so therefore the salt on the noodles make a little extra flavor in the soup.  Of course, you can then add the carrots, whatever chicken you want and yum yum, go for it.  I think the dill just makes the soup so flavorful.  Of course, if you don’t like dill, then you are on your own.  Enjoy!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment