Heavenly Grilled Scallops

DELICIOUS GRILLED SCALLOPS

Today I teased my son over  the phone telling him that I was making one of his favorite dishes that I love to make.  Well, when I described the dinner, he was drooling and he couldn’t resist coming over for a feast of the scallop specialty that I love to make.  Trust me, this recipe is restaurant quality. It’s easy and mighty gourmet.  Well, my son had to work late tonight but we waited and never ate dinner until 10:00 p.m., but the wait was worth it, especially since I had 2-1/2 glasses of Estancia Pinot Noir wine, which was great and I also highly recommend it to all of you.  My friend recommended it to me and now it is in my house most of the time for me and my friends and family.  Right now, I will share with you this magnificent recipe of Grilled Scallops in a wonderful magical sauce.  I hope that you think this recipe is as good as I think it is.

GRILLED SCALLOPS

MARINADE

3/4 cup dry white wine

1/3 cup light vegetable oil, such as canola

1 Tbsp. minced shallot

1 garlic clove, pressed

juice of 1/2 lemon

1/4 teasp. Salt

1 Tbsp. Chopped parsley

20 large sea scallops (I double the marinade for 20 scallops above).  Good for the sauce to have extra marinade

2 teasp. Cornstarch

1 Tbsp. Soy sauce

Combine all the marinade ingredients in a nonreactive container and mix well.

  1. Rinse scallops with cold water and blot dry.  Submerge scallops in marinade and refrigerate for 1 hour or longer.
  2. Drain marinade and reserve it.  Then place scallops in fish grill and barbecue over direct flame.
  3. Pour reserved marinade into a small saucepan.  Place cornstarch in a small bowl and add soy sauce and mix the two.  Stir cornstarch mixture into the marinade and bring to a boil for a minute or two.  When scallops are done, place on plates and spoon some marinade on each scallop and pass the rest in a gravy dish.scallop

SLURP!!!  SO YUMMY

DOUBLE ALL MIXTURES FOR 20 SCALLOPS

One Response to “Heavenly Grilled Scallops”

  1. Aw man, I’m moving back to SoCal!!! I really, really miss the good eats and drinks !! Altho, Cookie my good neighbor is a close runner-up (I finally sent her a link to your blog). I need to try one (or more) of your recipes to impress her (except this one – since I don’t have a grill).
    Keep up the excellent blog. It’s appealing and entertaining. Good job!!

Leave a comment